Shot List

I find shot lists useful because unlike storyboards, I am able to rewrite them and cross out the shots as I film them. This makes it clear to me what I have done and what I need to do. Although I adapted some shots and shot extra material when filming that made it into my final film, the original shot list that I stuck to was this:

  • Handheld mid shot tracks around the room to show the music box, child’s drawings and teddy bears on the bed.
  • Mid shot of young girl playing with toys in her room.
  • Close up of gate door banging in the wind.
  • Long shot of the open bedroom window with lights on.
  • Handheld close up tracking shot of young girl pouring tea.
  • (Hidden cut) handheld close up tracking shot of mother preparing dinner.
  • Close up of radio as announcement is heard.
  • Long shot of mother as camera tracks up and through the ceiling.
  • (Hidden cut) Close up of young girl playing tea parties when an adult male’s hand enters and picks up a teacup.
  • Mid over the shoulder shot from behind the male shows the girl playing as camera moves down through the floorboards.
  • (Hidden cut) Handheld long shot tracks down into the kitchen to show mother.
  • Handheld mid shot tracks the mother as she walks out of the room.
  • Mid shot shows mother walking up the stairs.
  • Low angle shot of the mother’s feet on stairs.
  • Over the shoulder shot from behind the young girl as she moves away to reveal the male figure.
  • Over the shoulder shot from behind the mother as she approaches the door.
  • Long shot of young girl as she replies to her mother, showing the empty room around her.
  • Close up of door handle closing as the mother exits the room.
  • Close up of male figure hidden behind the door as he takes a step forward.

 

Leave a comment