Risk Assessment

Last year, I didn’t do any sort of risk assessment before filming, although I didn’t see much that could cause problems in either storylines for AS or A2, I decided to check a risk assessment chart before production started.

hazard_matrix

The only two risks I could think of straight away for my production of ‘Familiar’, would be when the mother is preparing dinner there would be a knife involved and shooting scenes on the stairs. However, when I put these into the matrix the risk assessment of these two events happening would be low and the effects would be minor. Therefore I don’t think I need to worry too much about this but I will need to be cautious.

The consequences if the identified risks were to happen would range from a small bump to possibly missing fingers (although this is unlikely!) The steps I will take to avoid these will be general caution and ensuring that my tripod is secure and safe if it were to be placed on the stairs themselves.

Leave a comment