Sherlock Floorboard Shot

http://vimeo.com/37406179

In this episode of Sherlock there is one scene that involves a continuous shot where the camera goes through the floorboards. This is very similar to the effect that I am hoping to achieve and it also looks really nice because you can see the inner floorboard as the camera moves up and through. I felt that the light in the ceiling looked really nice, however this won’t be possible in my kitchen, although I can try to replicate the dark lighting as this will almost masks the cut through the ceiling.

This is the first scene since the beginning of the year that I’ve noticed this effect being used and I do think that it looks really nice and is super effective. The only downside is how difficult it will be. I will need to locate some equipment that will allow me to control the speed at which the camera moves down and then hopefully I will be able to follow the tutorial that I watched and alter the perspective as I wipe through the floorboard.

Leave a comment